Administration guide for Assay

There are three main user roles in ChemAxon Assay. Administrators (admins) have access to the entire system, including its configurations. Users have access only to parts of the functionalities and special users are the external users (e.g. CRO staff) restricted to data upload only.

This page summarizes the tools collected in the Admin Area tab. This is only visible to users with admin rights (managed in Synergy).

Automatic upload

Automatic file upload is available via a file sharing service. Currently Google Drive and Egnyte services are implemented.

Google Drive Settings: You have to sign in with a Google account, and copy the target folder's URL to theFolder URL field (please note that it is not the sharing link of the folder). The folder icon next to the URL field opens the Drive folder in a new browser tab. If the folder is valid, you can quick-view the contents by clicking the Google Drive Folder Content dropdown button.

Egnyte Settings: You have to sign in with an Egnyte account, and enter the folder path of the shared Egnyte folder. The folder icon next to the path field opens the Egnyte folder in a new browser tab. If the folder is valid, you can quick-view the contents by clicking the Egnyte Folder Content dropdown button.

OneDrive Settings: You have to sign in with a OneDrive account and enter the folder path of the shared OneDrive folder. The folder icon next to the path field opens the OneDrive folder in a new browser tab. If the folder is valid, you can quick-view the contents by clicking the OneDrive Folder Content dropdown button.

Scheduling: you may set the periodical checkup of the folder to see if there are any new files added. The software then automatically uploads the new files. Set the starting date and time in the corresponding fields, and define a time period when the folder check should occur. Click the Start button to start the scheduling. If you set a date already passed, the scheduling will start immediately. To pause the scheduled file upload, click the Stop button.

Data synchronization

Data may be sent (downstreamed) to other applications, so connected databases are always synchronized. This happens periodically, but if needed, a manual synchronization can be started.

Adapter status: the current state of the Assay adapter is displayed here. The normal case is a green sign reading UP and Ready. If this is not the case, please contact your system administrator for support.

On-demand synchronization: after the first synchronization a colored bar displays the time stamp of the last synch and if it was succesful. To initiate the data synchronization right away, press the Start synchronization button.

Available columns in downstream: this list shows you which columns are downstreamed.

Access Control

You can assign various roles to groups of users as defined in Synergy administration. The groups are automatically retrieved from Synergy, and offered in the dropdown list.

The assignment of users to groups is handled in the Synergy Administration. See details in the Synergy documentation.

Roles Overview

We collected all privileges in a table so you'll have a reference of who is allowed to do what.

Power user functions

Regenerate indexes: click the button to regenerate indexes for the database.

Feature on demand: Clear database

Recommended only for trial periods of evaluting Assay!

With this function you may permanently delete the database (wipe clear of all user-set parameter types, procedures, tasks, history).

There are three options of database cleaning:

  • Delete tasks and processed data only: Tasks and Processed Data tabs will be emptied, but the Parameter Types, Procedures and settings in the Admin Area will remain.

  • Keep settings, delete all data: Parameter Types, Procedures, Tasks and Processed Data tabs will be emptied, but settings in the Admin Area will remain.

  • Delete settings and all data: all tabs will be emptied and Admin Area settings will be set back to the default values.